Australia’s international development assistance in Africa aims to help people overcome poverty through economic development. The Australia Awards Scholarships form a core part of Australia’s development assistance in Africa. The awards develop the capacity and leadership skills of Africans to enable them to contribute effectively to development in their home country.

Australia Awards Scholarships (AAS) are prestigious international awards offered by the Australian Government to the next generation of global leaders for development. Through study and research, recipients develop the skills and knowledge to drive change and help build enduring people-to-people links with Australia.

AAS are available to 11 African countries for studies at Masters level:

  • Botswana
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania
  • Zambia

Applicants will be assessed for their professional and personal qualities, academic competence and, most importantly, their potential to impact on development challenges in Africa. Such as the important development work that Curtin Australia Awards alumnus, Mohamed Diarra is doing in Mali driving investment capacity in the mining sector.

“The vision of the Ministry is to increase the added value in the mining sector to act as a motor for the Malian economy. I want my country to get the best while negotiating for mining deals with mining companies”

Why choose Perth?

Perth is the closest Australian capital city to Africa and only a nine-hour flight to Johannesburg. Perth stands out for its high living standards, safe environment and prosperous economy. In 2015, it was ranked as one of the world’s top 10 most liveable cities by the Economist Intelligence Unit, scoring strongly in all five categories of stability, healthcare, culture and environment, education and infrastructure.

Find out more about Perth.

Learning offerings at Curtin

Curtin offers you a range of practical, globally focused study options. The offerings may vary from year to year depending on the Australian government’s priority areas.